Late March 2023

Showing all 24 results

£250



London, John Long, 1923.

First UK edition. 8vo. Original green cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 7/6.

A rather stunning first UK of this famous account of Missouri life. Although Croy was primarily a humorist, this is a serious, realistic novel in the vein of Theodore Dreiser and Thomas Hardy.

£250



London, Piatkus, 1980.

First UK edition, first hardback edition. 8vo. Original burgundy boards. Dust-jacket, without price.

The first hardback printing of Virginia Andrews' darkly psychological, grimly compelling thriller, the first in a series which was eventually, upon the author's death, taken over by a ghost writer. The book was first published in the US in paperback. Copies often turn up without a price as in this case.

Modern Literature

Boyle (Kay) My Next Bride

£125



London, Faber, 1935.

First UK edition. 8vo. Original blue cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 7s6d.

A very good first UK edition of this early novel by one of the 'Lost Generation' writers, a semi-autobiographical k├╝nstlerroman set around an artists' commune on the outskirts Paris. Boyle was a prolific writer and poet, and a successful journalist until falling prey to the McCarthy witch hunts.

£225



London, Collins Crime Club, 1951.

First edition. 8vo. Original dark orange cloth. Dust-jacket, price-clipped.

A very good first edition of this tale of international intrigue and deadly peril.

£250


Detective Stories
New York, Murray Book Corporation, 1930.

'New Edition'. 8vo. Original green cloth. Dust-jacket.

An intriguingly supernatural themed jacket elevates this omnibus of Holmes stories.

Modern Literature

Figes (Eva) Equinox

£325



London, Secker & Warburg, 1966.

First edition. 8vo. Original black boards. Dust-jacket, priced 21s.

Harrowing portrayal of a year in the life of a writer losing the motivation to continue after a recent miscarriage while her marriage comes apart. It examines the breakup of a marriage and the protagonist's subsequent struggle to rebuild her world. It was published about the time of the author's own divorce from George Figes. No copies currently for sale online.

£295

London, Michael Joseph, 1944. First edition. 8vo. Original dark grey cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 9/6. A posthumous biographical bequest proves problematic to the appointed biographer, who finds herself at loggerheads with the family of the deceased, leading to suspicions of murder... uncommon.

£375



London, Jonathan Cape, 1965.

First edition, first impression. 8vo. Original plain black boards. Dust-jacket, priced 18s.

A very decent first edition of the last full-length James Bond novel by Ian Fleming, in the plain second state boards. Under the heat of the Caribbean sun, Bond faces a seemingly impossible task: win a duel against Scaramanga, the Man with the Golden Gun, and regain M's trust.

£3,750



London, Noel Douglas, 1927.

First edition. 8vo. Original dark green cloth lettered in black. Dust-jacket, priced 7s6d.

The rare first edition of occultist Dion Fortune's first novel, revolving around a secret society of mystics in London, and the machinations of their leader, Lucas. Fortune co-founded the 'Fraternity of the Inner Light', an occult organisation that promoted philosophies which she claimed had been taught to her by spiritual entities known as the Ascended Masters.

£75


related by Christopher Jervis, M.D.
London, Chatto & Windus, 1916.

First edition, reissue with tipped-in title 1916. 8vo. Original first edition cloth.

A nice first edition of a Haycraft-Queen cornerstone, relating stories of medical detection. The book uses the first editions sheets and binding, but has an updated title-page.

£160



London, Hutchinson, [1937].

First edition. 8vo. Original red cloth. Dust-jacket, early issue priced 3/6.

A very good first edition, in early jacket, of what is widely held to be one of the best shipboard murder-mysteries ever written. By the author the original 'Blackshirt' books.

£295


and other essays
London, Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1951.

First edition. 8vo. Original pale cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 12s6d.

A handsome first edition of this collection, in which Greene shares his love affair with reading in this collection of essays, memories, and critical considerations, both affectionate and tart.

£275



London, Collins, 1936.

First edition. 8vo. Original green cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 8/-.

Considered the author's greatest novel, published posthumously. Centred around a County Council, the novel illustrates how public decisions can mold the individual, at the same time offering a panoramic and unforgettable view of Yorkshire life. Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial Prize.

£395



London, Sampson Low, [c.1931].

Early issue. Inscribed presentation copy from the author. 8vo. Original orange cloth. Dust-jacket, referencing this title and Knight's 'The Pawn' [1931] on lower panel, with official price-sticker '5/-' on spine and lower panel.

The author's first book, inscribed by the author to 'Miss Digger', thanking her for help and support. The adventures of Jerry Scant, a gipsy, who unwittingly becomes involved with an international gang of smugglers.

£160



London, Gollancz, 1932.

First edition. 8vo. Original red cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 7/6.

A weighty omnibus of literary delights, featuring works by Henry James, Sheridan Le Fanu, Robert Louis Stevenson, Rose Macauley and Jane Austen, to name but a few.

£195


A story which began in China
London, Cape, 1947.

First edition. 8vo. Original green cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 10s6d.

The autobiography of the daughter of a Chinese diplomat, reflecting on her experiences and education in England and the USA, and her time learning to paint in France.

£395



London, Arthur Barker, 1935.

First UK edition. 8vo. Original decorative cloth. Dust-jacket, price-clipped.

The first UK edition of McCoy's disturbingly titled Great Depression era classic, adapted for film by Sydney Pollack in 1969.

£295



London, Ernest Benn, 1930.

First edition. 8vo. Original black cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 7s6d.

A favourite collection of short stories from the revered V.S. Pritchett.

£200



Lagos, , 1977.

Oblong 4to; original cloth; dust-jacket.

The souvenir book of the Second World Black and African Festival of Arts and Culture.

Weird & Supernatural

Service (Robert W.) House of Fear

£350



London, T. Fisher Unwin, 1927.

First edition. 8vo. Original green cloth blocked in black. Dust-jacket.

A remarkably scarce and obscure weird-mystery thriller by Scottish-Canadian 'Bard of the Yukon'. Unfortunately the jacket would appear to have resided on a bookshelf in the House of Fear for a tad too long due to its traumatised condition, but rare nevertheless!

£495


or The Modern Prometheus
London, Routledge, 1891.

8vo. Contemporary cloth.

A solid 19th century edition of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, perfect for rebinding perhaps...

£475



London, Greening, 1903.

First edition. 8vo. Original pictorial cloth.

A very good example of this uncommon sci-fi title, "which contains two Prehistoric SF novellas plus a similar short tale, each set in a different Asian civilization prior to the founding of China; these stories are made available to the modern world by use of a Time Viewer." (The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction).

£325


A cycle of the Southern Hills
London, Methuen, 1930.

First UK edition. 8vo. Original red cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 7/6.

The first UK edition of an important work on the Appalachians, a series of dialect sketches focusing on a single Southern community that was praised for its realism. The author, who co-created the 1920s little magazine The Modern Review, died in a car accident in 1931, after attending a 'bootlegger' near Cherokee. Scarce especially in a jacket.

£250



London, Grey Walls Press, 1943.

First edition. 8vo. Original black cloth. Dust-jacket, priced 7s6d.

An attractive first edition of this surreal semi-SciFi title by Scottish author Todd, renowned for his writings on the artist & poet William Blake. Published in England in 1943 by the Grey Walls Press in an edition of 1000 copies because of paper shortages, it received little circulation, although the few critics who saw copies praised it highly. The first edition has subsequently become a known rarity.